Second Thoughts on the New Year

Since my last post, I’ve been thinking about New Year’s resolutions.

I think I was a bit negative about the whole thing. I suppose at the end of the New Year, it’s easier to get distracted by all you haven’t done and not all that you have done.

I did have some pretty awesome moments in 2014.

I had a short story published (with other stories by fellow and former students from my grad school) by the Peace Corp in Ethiopia. Schools all over the country will now have the books with our stories, my story, in them to help the students learn to read English.

I got promoted at work and now have a Big Girl Job.

Husband and I have never been stronger and never been better.

And plenty of other small victories.

I don’t need to focus on that fact that I didn’t write as much as I wanted, or that I didn’t submit to as many agents as I should have, or that I didn’t read as many books as I had wanted to.

Goals are important. I can’t believe that I forgot that lesson from one of my classes at school. We made a goal board that was a visual representation of our goals for the year. Then, I posted a list of all my goals all over my house in places that I would see every day. And, it seemed without even trying, I completed most of those goals.

So this year I vow to…

  • Write more
  • Read more
  • Loose some weight (yep… I’m at that lovely stage of life now. I even joined WeightWatcher this weekend. Exercise just wasn’t doing enough)
  • Be better about staying on top of the laundry
  • Submit to at least TWO agents (Setting the bar kinda low, but with the rate I’ve been going it’s better than two in a year and a half)
  • Submit at least one story to a contest

Right. I think that’s a good start. This blog post is probably the one that best reflects the “life and times of a former English grad student trying to make her way in the world.”

Well, the holidays are over and “real life” starts back bright and early in the morning. Here’s to making these resolutions stick.

Leave a Reply

