And One and Two, Three and Four…

Why should you do writing exercises?

What a silly question to ask. Writing is not easy, and most of you who read this blog know that (and are probably giving me a chorus of ‘amens’). But really, no one wants to get out of shape. Not football players, not actors, and no, not writers.

Do I exercise as much as I should? No. Certainly not. But this is one of those don’t do what I do, do what I say kind of moments. Stephen King comments in his book On Writing that a writer should read/write between 4-6 hours every day. Well, that’s fantastic if your Stephen King and can afford to do that.

I doubt anyone of Stephen King’s caliber is reading this blog. So that’s unrealistic for most of us almost-starving-artists.

Instead (do what Delia Sherman told me) and do 20 minutes every day.

Yes. Every. Day.

“But I don’t have any exercises to do,” some of you (like the me before this blog) may whine.

NEVER FEAR! I have some that I will gladly share!

(1) Describe the room you’re sitting in as you would experience it when…

  • you just got in a fight with someone who is really important to you
  • you knew it was haunted
  • you’d just fallen in love
  • like you knew you were going to die

Okay. So, pen, paper, timer. Set it to 20 minutes and…
GO!

One thought on “And One and Two, Three and Four…

Leave a Reply

